Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 4 Nov 2000, 23:09 (Ref:46730)   #1
DAVID PATERSON
Veteran

Australia
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
DAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDAVID PATERSON should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
I'm not technically minded myself and i rely heavily on friends for help and advice when it comes to car specification and maintenance. So I welcome any suggestions you all care to make.

Previously, i have used ordinary street pads, they are cheap to buy, they don't need warming or bedding in and in the past they lasted well at Lakeside which is a flowing track with a shortage of tight corners and hard stops. But now, they are just not working well enough, I'm getting brake fade after about 5 laps and wear has also become a problem. My last set failed to complete their second meeting, i used to get a full season from a set of pads.

I've talked extensively with my colleagues and there are two popular suggestions. Bendix Ultimate, a premium high performance pad made with carbon/kevlar, these wear well and don't fade, but need warming and bedding in and they don't give much change from AUD100. The alternative is the Bendix Metal King, these are made from iron/steel, they work similarly to the Ultimates but are known to chew up disc rotors and are about half the price of the Ultimates.

Any ideas, folks?
Old 4 Nov 2000, 23:29 (Ref:46734)   #2
bobdrummond
Racer

bobdrummond should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Are Performance Friction's Carbon-Metallic pads within your budget?

Have you checked your current installation;-
Is there sufficient cooling?
Is the disc ok?
Have you serviced the calipers recently?

Old 5 Nov 2000, 03:27 (Ref:46762)   #3
DAVID PATERSON
Veteran

Australia
Brisbane, Qld, Australia