Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > General Forums > Armchair Enthusiast

Old 4 Nov 2001, 03:10 (Ref:169518)   #1
knowlesy59
Racer

Wales
WALES
knowlesy59 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
help.startin out in R/C cars

hello there.i have been thinking about buying a proper radio control car for a while now,but the problem is i havent got a clue.i dont want to race it i just wanna have one for something to do.

if anyone has any answers to these questions i would be mostly appreciated.

1/ what do i really need.i have been searching on the web and i cant really find out the full story i dont think.all i know is u get the chassis,u have the motor,u have a speed regulator(esc i think),and u have the battery and u have the hand contol and the reciever in the car and then another bit..dont i just sound like a complete novice.

2/ how much would it cost about.i am willing to pay but i dont wanna go overboard.

3/ does anyone know of any sites where i can buy this stuff online as i havent really got a good model shop around here.

any advice or anything would be appreciated.

i want to try for a ? TL01/TB01 chassis and electric.i dont fancy nitro or petrol at the mo.

thanks in advance.
Old 4 Nov 2001, 20:49 (Ref:169833)   #2
Tony_Simpson
Veteran

Tony_Simpson should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I used to do some RC driving in the past, so should be able to help a bit

Depends on what you want to do, on road or off road racing. Both cost simular amounts. There is also a choice between 2wd and 4wd. 4wd cars are a bit more expensive. There are lots of other choices as well. Try to find a RC model car magazine, (There are a couple around, where they will help with contact names etc.)