Old 5 Sep 2011, 10:47 (Ref:2951078)   #1
Alchamist
Rookie

England
Stone, Staffordshire
Alchamist should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
A big thank you ...

Hi guys,

I'd just like to say a huge thank you to Chris, Jayne and the team that organised a fantastic "taster" day at Donington yesterday. Even though they may not have been firing on all cylinders that day, they still went out of their way to ensure that the 20 bleary eyed attendees were looked after and well briefed as to what it was all about and what to expect.

I would also like to say a huge thank you to Ian and Caroline (I think - I'm useless with names!) on Post 1 yesterday afternoon, who put up with a complete newbie asking questions and generally looking dumb (a perpetual state) without complaint or comment. They ensured I got included in what they were doing, including getting me "hands on" with the stalled car and the yellow flag (who would have thought that waving a flag could be so difficult ... I spent most of my time unravelling the thing instead of waving it!)

I am sure I will be returning to start my time as a marshal. My only issue is a lack of confidence in new situations ... the way the car park cleared in the morning as we watched as everyone went to their assigned posts was a spectacle in it's self ... I think the whole "where the hell do I go" factor might be the hardest part for me to overcome!

Still .. here's hoping I can get into an orange romper suit soon ... even if I think I'll have to have a custom made one (you can be short and thin, or tall and very fat, but not tall and reasonably fat like me it seems!)

Jay
Old 5 Sep 2011, 10:58 (Ref:2951084)   #2
The Fat Clerk
Veteran

Northern Ireland
Bishopscourt
The Fat Clerk should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridThe Fat Clerk should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid