Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Saloon & Sportscar Racing > Sportscar & GT Racing

Old 5 Sep 2006, 13:12 (Ref:1702325)   #1
Pingguest
Veteran

Netherlands
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Pingguest should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Questions about the Group C

I've two questions about the former Group C.

1. I know that Group C cars were allowed to use ground effects. But in what way were the venturis restricted? As far as I'm told, flexibel skirts were banned and the front end of the undertray had to be flat.

2. What were the maximum dimensions allowed for the chassis and tyres?

I hope anyone could answer my questions, as I'm relatively new in this kind of motorracing.
Old 5 Sep 2006, 15:26 (Ref:1702420)   #2
canam
Veteran

canam should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridcanam should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Group C (world championship) was a fuel formula. You were restricted by way of the amount of fuel you could use in a race. In qualifying, some of these cars were produing huge amounts of horsespower (especially the Turbos) but had to trim the wick in the race in order to finish.

I think maximum width was two metres.
Old 5 Sep 2006, 19:17 (Ref:1702646)   #3
Pingguest
Veteran

Netherlands
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Pingguest should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by canam
Group C (world championship) was a fuel formula. You were restricted by way of the amount of fuel you could use in a race. In qualifying, some of these cars were produing huge amounts of horsespower (especially the Turbos) but had to trim the wick in the race in order to finish.
OK, but there were no restrictions to the undertray apart from the ban on skirts?
Old 5 Sep 2006, 21:33 (Ref:1702777)   #4
canam
Veteran

canam should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridcanam should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid