Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Saloon & Sportscar Racing > Australasian Touring Cars.

Old 16 Oct 2001, 07:08 (Ref:161267)   #1
BJAY
Racer

Australia
Canberra, Australia
BJAY should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
JB leaving CAT (from the man himself)

This was taken from www.johnbowe.com.au

Well we certainly live in interesting times, one door closes and several others open very quickly.

Briggs Motorsport and I have decided to go our separate ways but one thing I can assure you, I will definitely be staying in V8 Supercar racing.

The phone rang pretty hot over the course of the weekend with some very interesting and tempting offers.

At present there are five different options on the table for 2002 – but two of those are from Holden teams and you can bet I will certainly not be entertaining those offers – regardless of how tempting they may be.

I have been a Ford driver since 1988 and we have had some fantastic success together. I am also heavily involved in helping with the development of the Tickford road car range as well as racing the Mustang in GTP.

I am certainly not going to throw all that away to drive a Holden. Besides, there would also probably be a riot amongst the Ford fans as well.

But at the end of the day, I still really enjoy the competition of V8 Supercar r acing and still feel I can be very competitive.

If I hung up the helmet now, I would certainly be leaving the sport with a lot of unfinished business.

The first stint at Bathurst showed I can still be right on the pace.

But the real secret is you have to have a good car beneath you.

Look at Tony Longhurst and Thomas Mezera – they really haven’t been a factor throughout the 2001 championship, but, put them in a HRT car and they are very competitive.