Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 2 Feb 2007, 21:04 (Ref:1832165)   #1
meb
Rookie

United States
Wappinger Falls, New York
meb should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hub flange

10mm wheel spacers are not available for the current model Mini Cooper. If I look at the hub design, which is pretty much standard fair across run of the mill rigs, a 10mm spacer does not work because it removes the function of the flange. Now, I'm no engineer, but I assume that the flange is responsible for resisting some load generated by the tires as wll as centering the wheel - hubcentric.

I ask because I just ran into an entire group of folks whom have layerd two 5mm spcaers together. To my way of thinking, the studs should not bare all the load. It's madness to my brain!

The hub flange on this car is 10mm.
Old 2 Feb 2007, 21:20 (Ref:1832172)   #2
trikesrule
Racer

trikesrule should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Madness or inexperience on their behalf? Anyone who runs speedway will tell of stories of having a wheel go by cause there was no flange to help carry the load. This was always caused by human error in design of the spacer. Spacers must be a snug fit to the centre of the wheel and be snug on the hub. Thats it in a nut shell or pay the price...........trikes
Old 2 Feb 2007, 23:21 (Ref:1832248)   #3
Notso Swift
Veteran

United Nations
37deg 46'52.36" S 144deg 59' 01.83"E
Notso Swift should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
You will be able to get a locl engineering shop do this for you , as Trikes said it is critical that it is done right. Especially during hard cornering, I would assume BMW would engineer a fair safety margin for the road, but if you are pushing....
Old 5 Feb 2007, 13:17 (Ref:1833907)   #4
meb
Rookie

United States
Thanks. I thought I might check my intuition.
Old 5 Feb 2007, 13:58 (Ref:1833937)   #5
Dave Brand
Veteran

England
Hadfield, Derbyshire (UK)