Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: FlagMarshal.com MarshalsGuide.com Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Marshals Forum

Old 11 May 2005, 12:16 (Ref:1298248)   #1
simon drabble
Veteran

simon drabble should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridsimon drabble should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridsimon drabble should be qualifying in the top 3 on the grid
yellow flags

Firstly please let me make clear that this is NOT a winge. As a driver I have experienced some inconsistency over a green flag being shown after a yellow flag. The rule bok says that you have to stay in position until you pass the green flag. The trouble is a green flag is not always shown. Now common sense would dictate that as soon as one passes the incident then its safe to overtake and resume racing. However this inconsistency leaves the racer in a position where he might get called up afterwards and might not!
It bacame more apparent to me on Sunday at Silverstone where I overtook after the incident a much slower car in qualifying - during the race I lost a position when I let the car I was battling with overtake me before a green flag.
I would be interested to hear what marshalls do re green flags and/or reporting drivers who overtake AFTER the incident. Again to stress this is NOT a winge just want some clarification
Old 11 May 2005, 12:57 (Ref:1298281)   #2
stroller
Racer

stroller should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Can't explain or excuse the lack of green flags after an incident, but bear in mind that there may be another incident after the first one - hence the need for green flags.

As for reporting any overtaking before the green flag I feel it is the old problem of not having eyes everywhere. If there is a lot of things going on the Observer/Flag Marshals sometimes have more to look at, and sometimes things are missed. We do our best but .......
Old 11 May 2005, 13:04 (Ref:1298286)   #3
EvilPumpkin
CCNA