TNSL
Rookie

England
Freiburg, South Germany
TNSL should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Tyre Sizes

Hello to you all.

I am new here, and to karting.

Ok i brought my son a bambino kart don't know the chassis, but the engine is a Comer if that means anything thing to you.
i need to get some new or used tyres for it, but am not sure what tyres will fit the rims. Here are the numbers from the tyres and rims i have.

Front

Tyres:- Vega 10x4.00-5 Rims:- Free Line 5" CH110

Rear

Tyres:- Vega 10x4.60-5 Rims:- Free line 5" DH150

I have had a look on ebay but have found nothing with them numbers, also i have seen SL3 SL8 etc... but no sizes with them so don't know what to get.

Next question, if i see a set of junior rims with tyres that are different sizes to what i have, will they fit on the kart ok.

Sorry if the question are dumb, but as i say i am new to all this karting.
I am sure that i will be back with a lot more questions in the future.

Thankyou

Tony
Old 2 May 2008, 10:09 (Ref:2192425)   #2
ghinzani
Race Official
Veteran

ghinzani should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridghinzani should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hello - I think those Bambinos have tyres that are smaller than cadet tyres, but you probably could shoe horn them on. Heres what the ABKC regs say for cadet sizes.
SLICKS: Dunlop SL1 Front 10 x 4.5 x 5, Rear 11 x 7.1 x 5.
WETS: Dunlop KT3 Front 10 x 3.6 x 5, Rear 11 x 6.0 x 5

If you were in the UK I would say give Jonathon at Zoom karts a call as he is super helpful, but you may have more joy with a German supplier given your location. However I am sure Zoom would ship to you.

I think you could stick cadet wheels and tyres on - however I dont think a Bambino chassis would be homologated for Cadet racing - altho I think the Comer engines are similar, just yours is mroe restricted.

Hope that helps and welcome
Old 2 May 2008, 13:32 (Ref:2192551)   #3
TNSL
Rookie

England
Freiburg, South Germany