Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 10 Sep 2003, 16:45 (Ref:714275)   #1
lotus
Rookie

lotus should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
alternator blues

alternator
I am having some trouble with my race car alternator they only last one or two races the red light starts to glow i have traced the two main wires back and they have been joined together and run to the main cut off switch I know one should go to the battery and one to the ignition switch this is my first year with the car and it was well prept is this the way most race cars are wired??? can any one help
Old 10 Sep 2003, 20:40 (Ref:714501)   #2
graham bahr
Veteran

England
cambs
graham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridgraham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
it sounds like its wired wrong, race cars with an alternator should have a cut out switch which has a secondary switch on its back, the purpose of this second switch is to feed the alternators output safely to earth via a resistor when the power is turned off with the engine running, if its not wired correctly when you shut the power off the alternator fries its diodes as it thinks the battery is dead flat and so puts out its maxium charge, but as the battery is disconected the current has nowhere to go so the thing gets fried

its not speed thats dangerous, just the sudden lack of it!
Old 10 Sep 2003, 20:49 (Ref:714507)   #3
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!