Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racers Forum

Old 27 Aug 2013, 17:44 (Ref:3294834)   #1
AlexBall
Rookie

AlexBall should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
How should my boots fit?

Hey all,

I'm a newbie around here, and a newbie to circuit racing having only decided very recently that it's time to give it a go instead of just saying I'd love to!

Anyway, I hope I can steal some advice, if possible.

I ordered a pair of race boots online (Puma Future Cat's, in size 9) and they felt a bit tight around the toes, and a bit tight overall really, so I then asked the retailer to send me a pair of 9.5's so I could see if it was any better.

I received a pair of 10.5's instead, and while they fit slightly 'nicer' over the whole feet, my toes now have about 1cm in front of them of empty boot.

So, before I change again - what should they feel like? I'm actually wondering if the first pair might be better, since they're not designed for walking anyway?

Crikey. I started rambling there, eh.

Cheers!
Al
Old 27 Aug 2013, 18:36 (Ref:3294866)   #2
barnettracing
Veteran

United Kingdom
Dorset
barnettracing should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Like a glove!

In all seriousness though, race boots should be close fitting without being too tight/uncomfortable. Just like any other shoes, really.

The 9s sound too tight on you, the last thing you want are your feet getting uncomfortable. Remember, when they get hot, your feet swell up too. I'd prefer to keep the blood pumping to my extremities.

Conversely, the 10.5s sound too big on the toes. Depending on what you're planning on racing, shoes that are too big could catch in the pedal box. I wear 9.5s (Euro 44) and I can sometimes get this in my Formula Ford. You also don't really want 1cm of empty space at the top of your boot.

If they do a 9.5, it sounds like it will be perfect.
Old 27 Aug 2013, 18:44 (Ref:3294870)   #3
AlexBall
Rookie