Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racers Forum

Old 6 Mar 2006, 20:23 (Ref:1537513)   #1
dtype38
Race Official
Veteran

England
East London
dtype38 has a real shot at the podium!dtype38 has a real shot at the podium!dtype38 has a real shot at the podium!dtype38 has a real shot at the podium!
Trail Braking and Gears - which foot where?

First off, I understand the principle of trail braking. I used it for years in karts and then, when I graduated to cars, I had a clutchless box so it was just like driving a kart, left foot braking. I spent many a happy corner coming progressively off the brake as the apex approached and blending in the power for a balanced set and a quick exit.... but now I'm in a car with gears and I can't get my head round what to do with my feet.

If I'm not actually downshifting into a corner, then it's not a problem, I just left foot brake. If I have to go down gears though, that means using the clutch and toe and heel'ing in the braking zone. That means I have my right foot on the brake, so to trail brake I have to keep it there all the way into the apex. But how do I blend in on the power to balance the back end (I've got rear wheel drive) and set the suspension for getting the power down.

Any thoughts from anyone who does this as a matter of course?
Old 7 Mar 2006, 05:27 (Ref:1537719)   #2
djb
Veteran

djb should be qualifying in the top 3 on the griddjb should be qualifying in the top 3 on the griddjb should be qualifying in the top 3 on the griddjb should be qualifying in the top 3 on the grid
sorry to be replying only with bike experience on track (where it is definately easier to blend a two-finger brake bleeding off combined with the proper wrist blip transistion to power up) but wouldn't it be a question of a slightly bigger blip to give a smidge more time to properly bleed off the toe braking to settle the car before having to roll your foot back onto the throttle?