Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 27 May 2001, 19:12 (Ref:97388)   #1
Skelly
Rookie

Skelly should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Fuel Economy

I have read that F1 fuel tank capacity is around 100kgs.
Can anyone help me with a better understanding of F1 fuel consumption rates. I understand that the faster average speed the greater the fuel consumption (although this may be wrong).
When the pace car is out how much less fuel is used by the cars ?
When the avaerage speed is as low as 90mph (say Monaco), and over 140mph (Germany) what are the different fuel usage rates.
PLEASE HELP
Old 28 May 2001, 02:54 (Ref:97592)   #2
e_peña
Rookie

e_peña should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hey,,, im not an expert but, my teory would be that even though more throttle means more fuel consumption i think that in circuits such as monaco the engine works harder and has a lot of speed variation, therefore consuming more fuel, example in monaco u have to go from fast(260 kph) to slow (90kph) constantly and according to my knowledge the engine has to work harder and there´s not a constant speed trap which would estabilise the engine consumption rate for a while. its sort of like in the city and in the highway, the more u brake, the more u have to push it to come out of the curve faster, also another fact is that in street courses the gear ratios are way way shorter than in high speed circuits thus, the engine works faster and has more consumption rate.

correct me if im wrong.
Old 28 May 2001, 18:13 (Ref:97933)   #3
Skelly
Rookie

Fuel Usage

I watch F1 in the UK and they quote a total of 155kgs of fuel necessary to complete 'average' circuits.
I also hear that fuel tank capacities are between 100kgs and to, maybe, 115kgs.