Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Motorsport Art & Photography

Old 1 May 2015, 16:24 (Ref:3532591)   #1
SKG
Racer

Wales
Mid-Wales
SKG should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
35mm film: Am I crazy?

Hi all.

I have been experimenting with motorsport photography with a 35mm film camera.

I have been using this format because I find it fun. Half the photos I take are barely in focus, some are over or underexposed, and some are totally unusable.

Perfect sharpness is something that I can never hope to achieve with the equipment currently available to me, and I have realised this isn't always needed.

I am still a novice, having taken about only 140 photos across the past year, and I was wondering if anyone on this forum with experience of shooting motorsport on film in the past could offer any advice, comments, critique?

For DSLR users, am I crazy? At race weekends I can't remember seeing anyone else with a film camera, and people have a little fright when they hear the *clunk* from my camera's shutter.

A few samples below, more at the link, most recently the Britcar 24hr. Any thoughts welcome!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/125493671@N07/

Sam.
Attached Thumbnails
CNV00020.jpg   CNV00040.jpg   CNV00005.jpg  

CNV00025.jpg  
Old 1 May 2015, 16:51 (Ref:3532619)   #2
andrewc
Veteran

andrewc should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I occasionally see people using film cameras at circuits. They usually have beards.

Saying that, theres no reason why not, the settings don't really change - however you're stuck with whatever film you've chosen and can't up the iso when the clouds roll in, and of course you can't experiment in the same way as you don't have instant feedback and every shot costs you money.
Old 1 May 2015, 17:09 (Ref:3532634)   #3
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent