Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 13 Nov 2006, 10:21 (Ref:1764777)   #1
Tim Wilkinson
Veteran

England
Essex
Tim Wilkinson should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Converting centre-lock hubs to studs

I've got no experience of cars with centre-lock wheels, so apologies if this is a question with a very obvious answer....

Is it possible to convert a car (FWD, saloon) that has been running centre-lock wheels to accept a conventional wheel that affixes by studs / bolts, without changing the front / rear leg assembly?

Could a conventional hub be adapted to fit the centre-lock upright? Has anyone had something like this fabricated before?

Cheers for any help or advice, even if it's to say it can't be done.
Old 13 Nov 2006, 14:23 (Ref:1765011)   #2
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
Just change the hub for one with studs or bolts. What car is it.
Old 13 Nov 2006, 14:46 (Ref:1765024)   #3
Tim Wilkinson
Veteran

England
Essex
Early BTCC car. Would it really be as easy as swapping the hubs over like that? I've never looked closely at a centre-lock hub before, so I've no idea how integral to the upright they would be.
Old 13 Nov 2006, 15:09 (Ref:1765042)   #4
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by teej