Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 14 Nov 2000, 02:50 (Ref:48248)   #1
Tris
Racer

Tris should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hi all!

As a technical newbie I would like to open a discussion about workable, real world changes to the F1 regulation that would encourage some overtaking.. (Will we ever see a full ground effect car again?) I know this has probibllt been done to death but what the hey!

Most, if not all of you will know of the problems caused by contemporary F1 aerodynamic packages. The cars "rip" through the air. The “wake turbulence” causes massive problems for following cars, destroying its downforce to a point that overtaking becomes extremely difficult, especially on bends. It is a fact that 1999 cars developed approximately 1500 kg of downforce at the front of the chassis and 3000 Kg on the rear. 50% of this downforce was developed by the 'ground effect' elements such as venturi and the diffuser.

The current 'stepped bottom' regulations are responsible for an increase in chassis pitch sensitivity; the result, stiffer suspensions. One way to reduce this is to increase the distance between the lowest part of the venturi and the chassis. By further specifying a maximum tunnel exit height and width, the ground effect is reduced, as is the wake turbulence, as is the pitch sensitivity, and hey presto, softer suspensions and reduced oversteer.

Can we go further? It would make sense to introduce some limitations on wing height and composition. This could serve to eliminate the current bi-plane and tri-plane configurations that we currently have. Getting shot of curved front wing endplates would go some way to reducing the amount of air extracted from under the chassis and thus also reduce downforce.