Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Classic Cars Monthly Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Historic Racing & Motorsport History > Historic Racing Today

Old 25 Feb 2007, 22:11 (Ref:1851410)   #1
JRTM
Rookie

Ireland
Orlando, FL
JRTM should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
HANS devices in historic racing

I am interested in this issue which is becoming a hot topic for historic cars. As a surgeon I have been looking at the scientific data in respect to the effectiveness of the device as well as the risk of a fatal cervical (neck) injury. The device is only partially effective - not protecting against lateral force for example - and the risk of fatal neck injury is statistically tiny.

Right now the FIA is planning a blanket introduction for the use of HANS even though their practical use in many forms of cars is very difficult and extremely expensive. At the same time none of the other available devices are getting a look in - why is this exactly? Even the F1 teams don't use commercially available HANS devices and use modified versions.

I see in the US only 50% of historic racers claim to be using HANS systems - what about here? Much less i am sure.

What do people think?
Old 26 Feb 2007, 07:47 (Ref:1851765)   #2
terence
Veteran

Germany
Nordschleife
terence should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridterence should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
My only thought,s are about how many neck injuries have there been in the last 50/60 years.These things are awfull to wear!
Old 26 Feb 2007, 07:55 (Ref:1851774)   #3
JRTM
Rookie

Ireland
Orlando, FL
JRTM should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid