Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 9 Jan 2007, 15:32 (Ref:1810460)   #1
richardnewcombe
Rookie

United Kingdom
Nottingham, Uk
richardnewcombe should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Radiator Deisgn For Formula Student Project

Hey guys, new member I know, hello everyone! Sorry if this is the wrong forum already but here goes.......
Basically the reason I joined is that I am a 4th year University student and we are currentley working on a Formula Student Project, the details about it can be found at http://www.imeche.org.uk/formulastudent/ .
My problem, I have a shed load of work on at the moment (final year projects, exams etc) and cant devote the car all the time I need. However I have been assigned the task of designing the radiator and cooling system for the car.
Basically it is powered by a 80bhp (60KW) motorbike engine, and will run around the track with an average speed we reckon on 40mph. We have been through cooling pump selection, and chosen to run it off the battery to save the small ammount of power we have for the poor wheels! The next problem though is radiator selection and budget, we have about 4 grand for the whole car (but have most parts already so dont worry too much about that). So really I need to find the most effective, cheap, lowest drag inducing radiator for this car that wont cause it to overheat and explode as I have been told some have done in the past! Any help woulde be incredibly gratefully recieved, even if its just telling me to go to hell asking you lot this!
Thanks again
Richard Newcombe
University of Nottingham Formula Student Team

Last edited by richardnewcombe; 9 Jan 2007 at 15:36.
Old 9 Jan 2007, 22:37 (Ref:1810803)   #2
Notso Swift
Veteran

United Nations
37deg 46'52.36" S 144deg 59' 01.83"E
Notso Swift should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Don't be so lazy!
In the last 6 months there have been at least 2 threads that will give you ideas try:
Multiple fans