Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Other Motorsports > Bike Racing

Old 27 Sep 2000, 06:30 (Ref:39557)   #1
torsion_bar
Rookie

torsion_bar should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
i'm new around here and this is my first post.

i'm also new to motorcycle racing.

so, i see stuff about GP bikes and Kenny Roberts and Alex Criville, and i've also been introduced to world superbike and the likes of Haga and Fogarty.

what are the in and outs of each series and which one is more prestigious?

are they both sanctioned by the FIM and is the FIM an analog of the FIA?
Old 27 Sep 2000, 17:47 (Ref:39681)   #2
Redneck
Racer

Redneck should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Welcome torsion_bar!

The F1 bikes are probably still considered more prestigious and is sanctioned by the FIM which is part of the FIA/Bernie Ecclestone show. F1 bikes have been around for decades and the riders have always been considered "cream of the crop" and the bikes have no basis on any production motorcycles. They are limited to 500cc 2-stroke engines and have for years created the best horsepower-to-weight ratios. They are one-of-a-kind produced in very few numbers at a cost of about $1 million. Many of them go to the crusher at the end of the season. I have been trying to get a job running the crusher. Hope they don't weigh the scrap.