Home Mobile Forum News Cookbook FaceBook Us T-Shirts etc.: Europe/Worldwide. eBay Motorsport Links Advertising Live Chat  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > My Track Designs


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6 Jan 2010, 11:44 (Ref:2608876)   #1
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
Sketch-up tutorial

Every now and again the question of a tutorial or specific questions of "how do I get this bit correct?" come up.

The idea of this thread is that those of us who use Sketch-up can add hints and tips, with little diagrams/captures showing how to achieve a certain look/layout/building etc.

Who knows perhaps even those of us who have been using Sketch-up for a while will pick up some ideas or easier methods from one another.

I don't know if this will take off but certainly I'll try to add to it.
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 6 Jan 2010, 11:49 (Ref:2608880)   #2
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
Off-Set tool

This first one goes along with the advice given to ptclaus98 and his track Here
From the single line drawing which settles from the think line into the "set" thinner line, select the Off-set tool and click inside the layout. (image 1)

From there off set half the width internally and then half the width externally to create a centre line with the outer and inner edges of the track (image 2)

Or make a single offset at the ful width of the circuit (image 3)
Attached Thumbnails
TUT 1.jpg   Centre with offsets.jpg   Single Off-set.jpg  

ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 6 Jan 2010, 15:45 (Ref:2608949)   #3
ptclaus98
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
United States
Posts: 1,765
ptclaus98 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Thanks, mate.
ptclaus98 is offline  
Quote
Old 9 Jan 2010, 17:22 (Ref:2610568)   #4
Tathrim
Veteran
 
Tathrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
United Kingdom
Lancaster/Wallingford
Posts: 595
Tathrim should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
This is the advice given with response to Chiefy's post here

I draw a basic recatnagle in Plan view, than draw by clicking and drawing straight lines with the line tool (pencil icon), and curves with the arc tool (semicircular arc). To help draw consecutive and flowing shapes, Google has been your friend. when you go to draw the next line using either tool, there will be green nodes.

If using the arc tool, this node will provide a light-blue smooth transisiton between the arc and the preceding item. If using the line tool, the node signifies that if you drag in a preset direction (indicated by a line that has turned a nice shade of pink), the angle is the perfect angle given how the straight operates.

Another nice way to draw a circuit is to use the line tool over and over again to complete the shape. After cong so, click the arc tool, select a point, then drag accross to the following side until the line turns pink once it has, drag the mouse in the direction of the sharp corner until until the pink arc is achieved before deleting the extended tangents to the arc.

One last thing, Avoid the freehand wherever possible. it's a mare to deal with it, and is only really useful on smalle scale models.

I hope this helps.

Regards

Tathrim
Tathrim is offline  
__________________
Mortis vel Glorias!!
Quote
Old 13 Jan 2010, 22:46 (Ref:2613036)   #5
Chiefy
Veteran
 
Chiefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Germany
Cottbus, Germany.
Posts: 874
Chiefy should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Good tips, Tathrim, but using the straight line and arc tools, providing me with a "circuit" shape though it does, does not seem to allow me to offset the complete shape to give me my track. All of the lines and curves are joined by these nodes you referred to, but I cannot offset them all at once (instead the offset tool just offsets the rectangle I originally drew, which you also referred to earlier). Indeed, I cannot offset even straight lines individually (but it does seem to be possible with the curves on their own).

Does this make any sense?

I can offset an individual curve shape, whether part of the overall track design or not.
I cannot offset individual straights that are part of the track.
I cannot offset the completed track.

:-S Confusing stuff.
Chiefy is offline  
__________________
Belgian GP commentary: "Friday morning was nice and sunny - but not for Erik Comas, who crashed heavily."
Quote
Old 14 Jan 2010, 00:50 (Ref:2613085)   #6
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
When you create your circuit shape, using the nodes, go around and carefully delete off any extra bits from corners or straights. Once you've done that , it might be necessary to go over and re-draw a straight, or delete a straight and then draw it back in again. this should then "set" the outline from the thick dark drawing lines to the thinner lines of a fixed shape.

Once it sets to the thinner line, post 2 here should help you with the off setting.

Hope that makes sense and helps.
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 14 Jan 2010, 01:21 (Ref:2613088)   #7
LuiggiSpeed
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Puerto Rico
Posts: 913
LuiggiSpeed should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Thanks to Sketchup, I designed my Tsunami-survival craft!!



LuiggiSpeed is offline  
__________________
F.I.M. Certified Race Director whowhaa!!!
Quote
Old 17 Jan 2010, 19:13 (Ref:2614763)   #8
tiddys2k
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
tiddys2k should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
This may sound a bit stupid but I can draw the track well but I can't seem to draw the pit lane afterwards, any tips?
tiddys2k is offline  
Quote
Old 17 Jan 2010, 19:56 (Ref:2614788)   #9
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
Welcome to the My tracks section tiddys2k

Pitlanes can be tricky

It pretty much depends on how much detail your going to incorporate as to how much of the following applies....

I use the off set tool to set the important widths away form the straight (Tip Highlight the first and last corners as well, as sometimes Sketchup won't let you just off-set one line...and you don't need to off-set the whole circuit, just the bits you need).

What to off-set...
Maybe some grass (Barcelona)/extra width (Magny Cours) before the pitwall.
The width of the pitwall itself.
The Team area on the pitwall
The width of the main pitlane
The coloured safety area (not on every circuit)
The width of the working area "pit boxes"

Check out some real word circuits for their particular layouts and take the bits that work best for your designs.

I'm sure others do it differently
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 23 Jan 2010, 21:10 (Ref:2618254)   #10
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
A few comments....

I've updated my Sketch up version I was using in order to access Tathrim's design which he is kindly allowing me to do an edit/enhancement.

I was using version 6.

Now with Version 7, I can see why things I take for granted are causing some difficulty.
Version 7 to me feels less accurate, and a bit fuzzy. It is without doubt much harder to find any errors and fix them. Also layering issues aren't as apparent.

Where in Version 6 you draw a shape in dark lines, that when complete "sets" to lighter lines.
Version 7 is all lighter lines and as such doesn't show up bits that haven't lined up properly or extra bits beyond an arc/corner not if a line has accidentally cut an arc that you hadn't intended. In V6 the lines stayed dark until corrected.

So apologies if any of the above makes no sense, it related to V6. Any new comments will be on using V7
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 2 Feb 2010, 01:17 (Ref:2624121)   #11
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
Further to the comments above, having now had time to do my additions to Tathrim's circuit.

I feel that the designers in an attempt to make Sketch-up a bit more user friendly have gone too far.
Instead of being an excellent little design tool that required a bit of patience (OK a lot to begin with), in order to master it. Have come up with something that on the face of it looks the same but is in my opinion is a lot less distinct.

For example the now measuring distances to a 3rd decimal place appears to be much more accurate, yet it doesn't give the feel of accuracy. As I said previously it feels rather fuzzy and inaccurate.

Another area that I feel causes more problems than it solves is the auto joining of any crossing lines. In a complex design which most tracks are, where we use different colours and textures to convey different materials, these self joining lines cause layering issues. I personally do nearly all of the design from the vertical camera view, which is fine, but when texturing in now, if I've missed cleaning up an overlap line of a line that has joined that I didn't notice (from when using the off-set tool) as soon as I tilt the design the colours and textures go crazy between the layers.
With Version 6 any new lines were heavier and had to be made to join. With that, any missed lines were still in the heavier set and easy to identify and resolve the issues.

Anyone else any comments to make on either the change from Version 6 to 7 or any help required on something specific on a design?
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 4 Feb 2010, 23:42 (Ref:2626934)   #12
92scotland
Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
United Kingdom
Posts: 191
92scotland should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid92scotland should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I have been making a new track recently and have been trying to do some hills in it like xlr8r has done on his track Duck Pond:



So what I was wondering is how do I create these gradients like these with no lines etc. It makes it look a lot better and I was getting stuck on how it was done. Thanks
92scotland is offline  
Quote
Old 5 Feb 2010, 00:03 (Ref:2626948)   #13
ScotsBrutesFan
Race Official
Veteran
 
ScotsBrutesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Scotland
West Lothian
Posts: 4,624
ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!ScotsBrutesFan has a real shot at the championship!
I haven't tried gradient on version 7 as yet. Not a lot of time at the moment due to work commitments. I'll experiment over the next few days when hopefully I'll have a couple of hours to spare.
ScotsBrutesFan is online now  
Quote
Old 5 Feb 2010, 15:15 (Ref:2627301)   #14
Quintin03
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Netherlands
Posts: 566
Quintin03 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Removing lines is easy: just use the erasor and hold Ctrl while deleting a line it will then effectively be there while not showing itself as a thick black line.
Quintin03 is offline  
Quote
Old 5 Feb 2010, 15:53 (Ref:2627313)   #15
92scotland
Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
United Kingdom
Posts: 191
92scotland should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid92scotland should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quintin03 View Post
Removing lines is easy: just use the erasor and hold Ctrl while deleting a line it will then effectively be there while not showing itself as a thick black line.
Thanks! Never knew it was as easy as that! Thanks
92scotland is offline  
Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorsport photography tutorial.. Pigit Motorsport Art & Photography 8 18 May 2006 20:56
Well Done Sketch The Fat Clerk Marshals Forum 2 20 Jan 2005 08:00
My tutorial Lorna Cool Sites 5 27 May 2001 01:50


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Original Website Copyright © 1998-2003 Craig Antil. All Rights Reserved.
Ten-Tenths Motorsport Forums Copyright © 2004-2016 Royalridge Computing. All Rights Reserved.