Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Marshals Forum

Old 3 Oct 2004, 16:41 (Ref:1114099)   #1
red5pete
Rookie

England
Devon
red5pete should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Castle Combe and Incident Officers

Had a great day of close motorsport at Castle Combe in the Formula Ford Carnival yesterday, but the whole day was overshadowed. Incident Officers, I had one yesterday that spoke to me as if I was a trainee, everytime we had an incident he would run around shouting at everyone. I have 11 years marshalling experience and have found that this experience is becoming common. I go marshalling to enjoy motorsport and to help competitors race in a safe environment. Its made me think about becoming a flag marshall so I have nothing to do with IO`s directly.

Has anyone else had similar experiences and how did they deal with them.
Old 3 Oct 2004, 17:11 (Ref:1114115)   #2
jim69
Racer

jim69 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
At Oulton we managed to avoid IO's until a few years ago, however I came accross one at the Birmingham Superprix, and had a very similar experiance. I just took him to one side and explained that if he did not trust what we could do maybe he should talk it over with the Observer. If he did trust us then shut the **** up an let us get on with our jobs. It seemed to work. i eventually became an IO. I never had any complaints. The problem is some people should never get that qualification even if they are experianced, not everybody can manage people. Maybe you should discuss this problem with the regional training officer.
Old 3 Oct 2004, 18:30 (Ref:1114185)   #3
M Greenslade
Veteran

England
Chipping Norton, Oxon
M Greenslade should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid