Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 9 Jan 2003, 15:51 (Ref:468532)   #1
andrecerasi
Rookie

andrecerasi should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Aerodynamics tech question

I am a research student studying the wake characteristics of F1 cars experimentally in wind tunnels using laser doppler anemometry. Would anyone know of literature I could get hold of to aid my research.

Replies to andrecerasi@yahoo.com

Andre
Old 11 Jan 2003, 02:17 (Ref:470883)   #2
RWC
Veteran

RWC should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
That's one incredibly specific question you've asked andrea!
Hope you find some help but i suspect you're at the top of your tree allready-threre's no one that knows that stuff but you i think!
Good luck with it!
Old 12 Jan 2003, 22:11 (Ref:472465)   #3
Rhino
Racer

Rhino should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Had to find out what you were talking about so had a look on google, and there is a book
Durst F, Melling A and Whitelaw J H, 1981, Principles and Practice of Laser Doppler Anemometry, Second Edition, Academic Press, London
Amazon didn't have it though!
Old 13 Jan 2003, 12:23 (Ref:472905)   #4
andrecerasi
Rookie

Thanks for your search and hint for the book. The book you found on google is actually on my desk. I'm up to speed on LDA. It's the wake characteristics I'm more interested in. I can find loads of info for passenger cars but very little on open-wheel racing cars. Does anyone know where I could find such info?
André
Old 13 Jan 2003, 15:08 (Ref:473090)   #5
avsfan733
Veteran

avsfan733 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
if your looking for actual repeatable numerical data, such as a wind tunnel on a formula 1 car, you need to either be invisible or work for one of the teams. Otherwise your not getting anywhere near the car with any sort of measuring device
Old 13 Jan 2003, 16:05 (Ref:473154)   #6