Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racers Forum

Old 24 Nov 2003, 19:21 (Ref:793192)   #1
Rubinho
Racer

United Kingdom
Cambridge, UK
Rubinho should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Which starter saloon series?

I recently picked up an Alfa Romeo 75 (2.0 TS) with the goal of preparing it for running in some kind of saloon car series in 2004.

Problem is I do not know which one and I am looking for advice on what I should look for when choosing a series.

I am UK based. As a student I will be doing as much of the work myself as possible, the primary goal is to gain experience in preparing and running a car. Absolute competitiveness is a secondary goal given my (minimal) budget.

I would like to keep the car road legal as this will cut out a major expense (trailer, towing car etc.) Of course this limits some of the modifications I can do and the tyres I can run.

I will be driving myself (MSA requirements already investigated).

I have looked at the current Alfa series (AROC and ARCA) and the Auto Italia series (apparantly soon to become a BSRCC European Saloon series). I get the impression these may suit but their websites are short on regs and entry requiremtents for 2004. Does anybody have experience of these series in particular?

What would be a decent series I could make a start in with a fairly modestly prepared car that I could work up the ranks in with experience? I must say that I lean towards circuit racing but would consider hill climbs and sprints as well. I'm not really interested in road racing or rallying.

I'm sure I've missed out lots of information here, if you have any questions that would help you make a recommendation please ask me.

Thanks in advance.
Old 24 Nov 2003, 19:48 (Ref:793212)   #2
Ian Sowman
Veteran

Ian Sowman should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridIan Sowman should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridIan Sowman should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid