Home Mobile Forum News Cookbook FaceBook Us T-Shirts etc.: Europe/Worldwide. eBay Motorsport Links Advertising Live Chat  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Motorsport Art & Photography


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2 Aug 2014, 19:17 (Ref:3441044)   #1
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Formatting SD cards

I inadvertently formatted an SD card on my PC that I was using in my HD camcorder and have since found out that if you do this it will not work in the camcorder again regardless of what you try.
Looking on the net I am not alone it would appear, and before anyone tells me to format it in the camcorder you can't because it will not read that there is a card in it !
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 2 Aug 2014, 20:03 (Ref:3441053)   #2
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran
 
Tim Falce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Posts: 10,763
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
Is this camcorder/your camcorder specific as I haven't had a problem with my slr camera
Tim Falce is offline  
Quote
Old 2 Aug 2014, 22:04 (Ref:3441079)   #3
grantp
Subscriber
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,395
grantp should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridgrantp should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by GORDON STREETER View Post
I inadvertently formatted an SD card on my PC that I was using in my HD camcorder and have since found out that if you do this it will not work in the camcorder again regardless of what you try.
Format it as what Gordon?

There has ot be a way around that. Or just buy another cheap as computer chips card.
grantp is offline  
Quote
Old 2 Aug 2014, 22:16 (Ref:3441081)   #4
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran
 
Tim Falce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Posts: 10,763
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
Is it one of those cheapo sd cards that you bought?
Tim Falce is offline  
Quote
Old 2 Aug 2014, 23:52 (Ref:3441093)   #5
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
No it's not a cheapo, I use two decent grade 10 HC cards designed for camcorders, although both of my Panasonic 900 cameras have built in hard drives and card slots it's quicker and easier to use SD cards to transfer to the desktop for editing.
As most of us do I read the million page manual afterwards regarding the use of cards and it states that you should not format it in anything else than in the camera.
As I said I went on camcorder forums and found loads of people with the same problem and have tried reformatting it in FAT 32/ ex etc etc but to no avail. The card works fine in Sue's SLR so she might as well keep it for a spare.
I'm not saying it's impossible to sort it but it's easier to just get another card and take it as a lesson learned !
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 3 Aug 2014, 07:26 (Ref:3441122)   #6
Aysedasi
Ten-Tenths Hall of Fame
20KPINAL
 
Aysedasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
England
Lymington, New Forest, England
Posts: 30,607
Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!Aysedasi is the undisputed Champion of the World!
I must admit I've never formatted a card other than in the camera/camcorder, so no experience of this here......
Aysedasi is offline  
__________________
And so the countdown starts again.....

351
Quote
Old 3 Aug 2014, 08:23 (Ref:3441134)   #7
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Reading between the lines it looks like for some reason it only seems to happen with camcorders and possibly only Panasonic ?
At least I haven't lost any important footage
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 3 Aug 2014, 14:37 (Ref:3441200)   #8
JurekB
Racer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Poland
Stoke on Trent
Posts: 122
JurekB should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I've heard of this problem and I think the problem is because the folders your camera puts on the card are missing so that's why it wont recognise it.

So if for instance you normally have a 101DCIM folder and a MISC folder you need to manually replace them via your computer and then hopefully the camera will recognise them.

I don't know if this will actually work as the person who told me about it had deleted the folders from his card rather than formatting it but it may be worth a go.
JurekB is offline  
Quote
Old 3 Aug 2014, 16:15 (Ref:3441207)   #9
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JurekB View Post
I've heard of this problem and I think the problem is because the folders your camera puts on the card are missing so that's why it wont recognise it.

So if for instance you normally have a 101DCIM folder and a MISC folder you need to manually replace them via your computer and then hopefully the camera will recognise them.

I don't know if this will actually work as the person who told me about it had deleted the folders from his card rather than formatting it but it may be worth a go.
Yes you are right but I did know this and tried to put the folders (and the other folders that are inside them) via the PC and the camcorder still will not acknowledge that there is a card inserted so you can't format it in the camera.
What I can't understand is that when you buy a new card it doesn't know what camera it's going in !
As I said I can't be arsed to waste more time sodding about with it and just use it in one of the still cameras.
Incidently I copied a known good card but after putting the same card back in the camera I had to reformat it before I could use it
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 07:51 (Ref:3441344)   #10
JimW
Subscriber
Veteran
 
JimW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
United Kingdom
Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 3,345
JimW should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridJimW should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridJimW should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridJimW should be qualifying in the top 3 on the grid
I'd try one of the many data recovery tools to see if it will restore whatever it is the camcorder is expecting to find.

Then I'd try a "low-level" format to see if that restores the card back to the sort of "ex-factory" state that the camcorder may be insisting on.

No specific knowledge, just general principles.

Regards

Jim
JimW is offline  
__________________
Life is not safe, just choose where you want to take the risks.
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 08:09 (Ref:3441347)   #11
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimW View Post
I'd try one of the many data recovery tools to see if it will restore whatever it is the camcorder is expecting to find.

Then I'd try a "low-level" format to see if that restores the card back to the sort of "ex-factory" state that the camcorder may be insisting on.

No specific knowledge, just general principles.

Regards

Jim
Tried it all, not to save myself a few quid but just interested for the future.
Actually cloning a known working card and showing all the relevant partitions on the clone it still wont work and the camera comes up with "no card"
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 15:01 (Ref:3441398)   #12
flagwaver
Veteran
 
flagwaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
England
Yorkshire
Posts: 923
flagwaver should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Have you tried downloading what was on the SD card before you formatted it back on to the SD card and then putting it into the camcorder?
flagwaver is offline  
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 17:08 (Ref:3441413)   #13
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by flagwaver View Post
Have you tried downloading what was on the SD card before you formatted it back on to the SD card and then putting it into the camcorder?
You don't have to download everything that's on the card, just the AVCHD video stream, as I said the card works OK in an SLR after formatting it in it.
One thing I do know is if you put HD video back on a card from a PC it will not play in a camcorder.
Things have got complicated over the years since I started on 16mm 50 odd years ago
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 18:34 (Ref:3441429)   #14
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran
 
Tim Falce's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Posts: 10,763
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
It's only an SD card fer chrissy sake, just use it in the slr or send it to me.
Tim Falce is offline  
Quote
Old 4 Aug 2014, 21:38 (Ref:3441468)   #15
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,490
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Falce View Post
It's only an SD card fer chrissy sake, just use it in the slr or send it to me.
Tim I have already stated that I will use it in one of the SLRs, the whole point was trying to figure it out for the future in case it happens again as a genuine 32gig top of the range camcorder card ain't 10 bob !
GORDON STREETER is offline  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap SD cards and Flash Drives GORDON STREETER Motorsport Art & Photography 18 10 Jul 2014 21:19
[TV] One HD/SD [information]...post any info in here.... retro Armchair Enthusiast 30 3 Feb 2010 07:03
One HD/SD [information]...post any info in here.... retro Australasian Touring Cars. 11 6 Apr 2009 12:53
[TV] Eurosport going HD, SD channels will be 16:9 (Widescreen) the sniper Armchair Enthusiast 43 21 Aug 2008 12:58


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Original Website Copyright © 1998-2003 Craig Antil. All Rights Reserved.
Ten-Tenths Motorsport Forums Copyright © 2004-2018 Royalridge Computing. All Rights Reserved.