Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Other Motorsports > Hillclimb and Sprint

Old 15 Mar 2012, 20:06 (Ref:3041776)   #1
TarkMalbot
Rookie

TarkMalbot should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Car for more than on discipline?

Hi,
I have raced superbikes for the last 10 years but am not intending on racing bikes this year. I have however just bought an old 106 GTI that I am wanting to use for track days, club rallies and try a few hill climbs and possibly even rally cross.

I have had a look through the MSA blue book online but finding it difficult as a complete novice to fully understand it all. The car is fully road legal at the moment and I am going to start converting it soon.

The racing etc will come in the future and for the time being will be used as a toy on the road and track days.

I have two main questions. Firstly I want to make sure I don't remove or replace anything that is either required or not permitted and secondly is it possible to build a 106 GTI that could be used for multiple disaplines but still need the specific regulations for that disapline.

Thanks.
Old 15 Mar 2012, 21:12 (Ref:3041815)   #2
andrewc
Veteran

andrewc should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Well you need to get the regs for the different disciplines and work out the minimum you can do to the car to comply.
Old 16 Mar 2012, 18:55 (Ref:3042348)   #3
TarkMalbot
Rookie

I har been looking at the regs on the following site but like most regs there is a lot of information to look through and understand but guess there are some basic things most people in the sport know about. Until I am in a position to go to a meeting and meet other people I just don't want to do anything to the car that might mean I can't compete in the future.

For instance I see a lot of cars with stripped out carpets but then I remember reading you need to have some in to be able to enter road rallies etc etc.