Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 15 Aug 2002, 03:59 (Ref:358072)   #1
Suresh
Rookie

Suresh should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Traction Control

Hi all

Need to know how traction control works, just dont seem to understand, how one wheel can spin faster than the other and why we need traction control. I have never driven an automobile and I am no techie, so explanations in English would be the best.

thanks all.

regds
suresh
Old 15 Aug 2002, 14:13 (Ref:358362)   #2
Mackmot
Veteran

United Kingdom
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Mackmot should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
when a driver drives out of a corner and puts his foot on the accelerator too quickly the rear wheels spin because there is more power than the amount of grip. This causes the car to lose grip at the rear and therefore slide.

Traction control measures the speeds of each wheel and if the rear wheels are spinning too fast then it cuts the engine until the wheels are travelling at the right speed.
In F1 they have more advanced systems where intead of just cutting the engines, they control the throttle digitally. so the driver just puts his foot down and the traction control puts on the throttle at the correct speed.
Old 15 Aug 2002, 14:34 (Ref:358374)   #3
james_williams
Racer

james_williams should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
To follow on from Mackmot, there are wheel speed sensors on each of the 4 wheels. The computer measures the speed of the front wheels and the speed of the rear wheels. When the rear wheels are spinning faster than the front (In the case of a rear wheel drive car) the traction control will cut in as described by Mackmot.

The trend of going to digitally controling the throttle is preffered because the torque from the engine can be optimised, therefore giving optimum acceleration out of the corners and off the line.
Old 19 Aug 2002, 02:19 (Ref:360827)   #4
boyracer
Racer