Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Single Seater Racing > Formula One

Old 4 Nov 2000, 16:17 (Ref:46681)   #1
Jeanburrasca81
Racer

Jeanburrasca81 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid

I'm still a rookie, but I would like to present myself by launcing an already classic topic: what's the real speed of our active pilots?
Well, actually it's quite impossible to judge over people sitting in different cars, but I'll give a trie anyway.
Michael Schumacher: after all it semms to be quite undicutable that he's the quickest of all, a class of its own. For me he's not Senna, but equally one of the most complete drivers of all times. When he concentrates himself, he can be as quick as in Qualifying, through large parts of the race. Respect also for his fantastic rain performances.
Mika Hakkinen: you probably expect me to call him the second-fastest driver, but I have to say that I don't think him to be more than upper-middle-class. The only cause for his two titles was the McLaren, after me still the quickest car of all. He's mediocre under rain-conditions, where they say the true talent comes out. After all Hakka has been veaten by Coulthard in 2 months when McLaren bilt a more oversteering car. That says all.
David Coulthard: he's mediocre, there is no doubt. He was slower than Hill and he was slower than Hakkinen (almost in most of the races). Even if under special conditions, when McLaren doesn't prefer Hakka, he can win races, he only does it he drives the best bolid.
Rubens Barrichello: I'm sure he's one of the quickest. It's true he didn't show too much in the last season, but only because he suffers Schumacher's nearly unbeatable speed.
If we remember his exploits in the Stewart-GP and even with Jordan (e.g. 1994: Pole in Belgium; 1995: 2nd in Canada), we can see that he has all the arguments to beat Hakka and Coulthard.