Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Clubmans Rallycross Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Other Motorsports > Rallying & Rallycross

Old 29 Dec 2008, 08:54 (Ref:2362166)   #1
brands hatch
Veteran

United Kingdom
Kent
brands hatch should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
What is the idea of joker laps?

Hi im new to rallycross as a spectator and was just wondering if anyone could tell me what the principle of the joker lap is?
Old 29 Dec 2008, 10:23 (Ref:2362202)   #2
chunder
Veteran

England
Stevenage
chunder should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridchunder should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridchunder should be qualifying in the top 3 on the grid
I think its to promote overtaking, or at least the modicum of it.

It gives drivers a kind of pitstop in F1 option of trying to pass if you dont get a good start.

Starts are the be all in rallycross and if say Hansen gets a bad one in a heat, if he is in the right place he will take joker early guaranteed, that way he can use rest of race to catch up to leaders and when they take joker he will swoop past.

I like them, they providea bit of tactics, and also at some tracks there are often collisions!!!! All good
Old 29 Dec 2008, 12:20 (Ref:2362258)   #3
rx-guru
Veteran

European Union
Western Lower Rhine area of Germany
rx-guru should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
What the idea of joker laps is?

To ruin the original idea of RX – as most of the tracks are simply not able to be in keeping with the times of the nowadays machinery!
Old 29 Dec 2008, 13:08 (Ref:2362277)   #4
Graz
Veteran

Ireland
Graz should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridGraz should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridGraz should be qualifying in the top 3 on the gridGraz should be qualifying in the top 3 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by brands hatch