Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 4 Sep 2000, 12:14 (Ref:34916)   #1
redback
Racer

redback should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hi All,
I'm new to 10-tenths but have been a guest a few times.
I've got a question thats more of a curiosity than anything. Does anyone know why the big end bolts on a Ford Zetec engine have a helix on the shank? This type of bolt is probably used on other engines too, but why?
Old 4 Sep 2000, 19:07 (Ref:34997)   #2
bobdrummond
Racer

bobdrummond should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I'm not familiar with that engine. What kind of helix is it?
Old 5 Sep 2000, 08:29 (Ref:35079)   #3
redback
Racer

Hi Bob, The helix is like that found on a vice, a course thread with the top of the teeth missing. I also noticed that the caps are not dowelled so maybe the helix helps locate the cap and the rod together?
Old 5 Sep 2000, 11:27 (Ref:35099)   #4
Dino IV
Veteran

MagnetON
NL
Dino IV should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridDino IV should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Hi redback, welcome to 10 Tenths!

Sorry, I got no answer just additional questions on this one. I am glad I got myself a Technical Dictionary English-Dutch not so long ago so I could look up some of the terms. But I am still puzzled. Is the helix angled like on a normal bolt? Like this:

Or is it a much greater angle? And how high is it?

Maybe it is used to screw the bold through the monocoque for minimum clearance and maximum rigidity. But that advantage would loose out with mounting and remounting the engine time and time again. And team's use just a few tubs every year. But it could be if they use a replacable joint plate or something like that which could be renewed.
Or in case of a higher helix, could it be used to dissipate the heating energy in order not to create any unwanted stresses inside the bolt-tub area?