Home Mobile Forum News Cookbook FaceBook Us T-Shirts etc.: Europe/Worldwide. eBay Motorsport Links Advertising Live Chat  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13 Jul 2012, 12:41 (Ref:3106006)   #16
johnny99
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Ireland
Killucan, Ireland
Posts: 94
johnny99 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
No need to get complicated. Does the feul pump kick in, it should run for 2-3 seconds when the ignition is switched on. Have you got feul at the fuel rail. Is there a spark at the plugs.

John
johnny99 is offline  
__________________
JOMO Eng
Quote
Old 13 Jul 2012, 13:23 (Ref:3106021)   #17
Paceracing
Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location:
Chelmsford, Essex.
Posts: 107
Paceracing should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I would say your airbag is a good starting point. It probably does communicate on CAN as it, along with the other restraint systems, (seatbelt pre-tensioners, are PRS - Primary Restraint Systems, Airbags are SRS - Secondary Restraint Systems - (which is why you see labels for airbags saying 'SRS')) need to all fire in synchronisation in the event of an impact. It will almost certainly talk to the ECU at the very least from a diagnostics perspective should a fault occur in any of the restraint systems.
Paceracing is offline  
Quote
Old 13 Jul 2012, 13:25 (Ref:3106022)   #18
graham bahr
Veteran
 
graham bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
England
cambs
Posts: 2,071
graham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridgraham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
most of the small peugoet/citroen cars like 106, saxo etc, have a big relay mounted under the ecu, its got about 16 pins, its a tachometric relay, it uses the rpm signal from the crank sensor to switch on the ignition coil, fuel pump etc, so if that relay is faulty or the crank sensor doesnt work you wont get power to the col etc, even though the ecu may be powered up
graham bahr is offline  
__________________
AKA Guru

its not speed thats dangerous, just the sudden lack of it!
Quote
Old 13 Jul 2012, 16:38 (Ref:3106074)   #19
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,591
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny99 View Post
No need to get complicated. Does the feul pump kick in, it should run for 2-3 seconds when the ignition is switched on. Have you got feul at the fuel rail. Is there a spark at the plugs.

John
In his first post he said that there was no power to the coil pack if you read it, and the fact that the rev counter works when cranking shows that the CPS is working and the ECU is powered up at least .
I would assume when he also said that the fuel pump is OK he was getting fuel at the rail
GORDON STREETER is online now  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 15 Jul 2012, 17:21 (Ref:3106727)   #20
NMMotorsport
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
NMMotorsport should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Again thanks everyone for thier responses.
So now i have something to try. The airbag system i removed, i dont have the little wiring loom for it. Just an empty 4 wire connector, 2 of them being a 12v supply. What should i do with the other 2. Tried linking out, putting a 55ohm and around 110 ohm resistance across it( only resistors i had to hand). Is there anyone on here who races the saxo vtr and has already totally removed the airbag system??
NMMotorsport is offline  
Quote
Old 22 Jul 2012, 19:39 (Ref:3109934)   #21
NMMotorsport
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
NMMotorsport should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hey everyone

Firstly I would like to thank everyone for all the input into my problem, has really made me dig deep with the car and as a result I have learned plenty of new stuff.

Secondly, the car now runs, after numerous different directions of trying to find the problem I went back to the start. To keep it simple I started checking the loom and making sure things went where they should as per Haynes manual wiring schematic (which I might add tends to not give you the full picture and as usual colour cables not quite right and some items just not on the diagram) As the end result I found a supply to the fuel pump relay with only 10V on it, according to the diagram it should be spliced into another 12v supply at the relay which surprise surprise had 12v on it. So as simple as a bad joint. after repair car now runs as it did and at last I can carry on with the work I had planned.

So again just to thank you for helping me on my way, really appreciated.

Jon
NMMotorsport is offline  
Quote
Old 22 Jul 2012, 20:05 (Ref:3109943)   #22
GORDON STREETER
Veteran
 
GORDON STREETER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Spain
Kent+Mojacar Spain, but not always ?
Posts: 7,591
GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!GORDON STREETER is going for a new lap record!
English damp weather ! never happens where I am at the moment . As Johnny99 said you should have gone back to basics and I assumed you had !
Joking aside I'm glad you found it and found out a bit more about the problems you can have with todays marvelous electrical systems !

Last edited by GORDON STREETER; 22 Jul 2012 at 20:11.
GORDON STREETER is online now  
__________________
Balls of steel (knob of butter) They're Asking For Larkins. ( Proper beer) not you're Eurofizz crap. Hace más calor en España. Me han conocido a hablar un montón cojones! Send any cheques and cash to PO box 1 Lagos Nigeria Africa !
Quote
Old 23 Jul 2012, 05:52 (Ref:3110143)   #23
NMMotorsport
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 24
NMMotorsport should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Cheers gordon
I did do the usual twice before this but this was more about learning the car than anything tbh. Frustration does tend to cloud your judgement. But thanks for the help.
NMMotorsport is offline  
Quote
Old 3 Aug 2012, 21:00 (Ref:3115776)   #24
indigorallye
Racer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
England
Cheshire
Posts: 121
indigorallye should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
www.106rallye.co.uk
Good technical forum for all your TU engined issues ;-)
indigorallye is offline  
Quote
Old 18 Sep 2015, 22:28 (Ref:3574747)   #25
JasonGrant
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
JasonGrant should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paceracing View Post
It's been a long while since I last played about with this so if someone spots innacuracies, please feel free to correct me.
The CAN bus is a data bus that communicates with all other microprocessors on the modern road car, (ICE system, air con, instruments, auto gearbox contreller, electric seats, lights, electric windows, etc, etc). Think of the various parts of the car as being mini-computers, (built-into electric seats, ICE, etc) that need to talk to the main computer (ECU). The data bus is a 2-wire network (serial data bus) that sends and receives messgaes to and from the other mini-computers. The other systems connect onto the data bus via 'nodes' (think of it being branches of a tree with the trunk being the main data bus). Each end of the data bus needs to be 'terminated' with a resistor. One end is inside the ECU, and often on modern cars the other end is in the stereo (ICE) and sometimes in the instrument binnacle. Very modern cars have almost everything 'talking on CAN' but even older cars use CAN on in some instances, often going back 15+ years in many cases. Don't confuse this with OBD though. That is seperate and just allows the outside world to talk to the ECU through a dedicated port. For the Saxo, it might be worth plugging the stereo back in and Instrument binnacle to see if it makes a difference.
Good luck and I hope this helps rather than confuses!

Jason.
Hi Jason, very late reply of course but this could be a lifeline for myself as it is the only thing related to my car. Replaced the CD player a few days ago and within a minute the hole car went. Won't even try to start. Still have this problem. Any more details about this you can give me?
Cheers Jason.
JasonGrant is offline  
Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SAXO VTR BHP truelove647 Rallying & Rallycross 3 20 Jun 2010 18:11
Stockhatch Saxo for sale adamszx636 Rallying & Rallycross 8 7 Jul 2009 22:35
saxo race eligibility markw63 National & Club Racing 16 5 May 2006 15:53
Craig Shepherd Saxo carrera National & Club Racing 24 25 May 2005 17:35


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Original Website Copyright © 1998-2003 Craig Antil. All Rights Reserved.
Ten-Tenths Motorsport Forums Copyright © 2004-2018 Royalridge Computing. All Rights Reserved.