Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Road Car Forums > Track Day Forum

Old 15 Feb 2004, 11:29 (Ref:874709)   #1
Dillinger
Rookie

Dillinger should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
FR track car, advice?

Hi,

I'm really keen on getting into trackdays for a while now, but id rather not thrash my current road car about, and besides which its FWD. so i've been considering getting a RWD car - preferably with the engine in the front for balance as im new to rear wheel cars and dont want it too tail happy.

it doesnt have to be too fast, i just want to have fun, so for a while i was considering an 1.6 MX-5, seeing that i could get one for about 3 grand. Then i was pointed in the direction of porsche 944's. for a similar price i could get a well balanced FR car (2.5 liter too). So currently i'm more in favour of the 944 but i'd welcome more suggestions. i've heard BMW 325i mentioned a few times.

considering its for track use and i'll probably be spending more on it, do you think getting a shabby (possibly lightly damaged) car for £2500 is a good idea, or is it better to pay extra for a well looked after one?

which leads me onto: what to do with it... i'd like to be driving it in the track asap but i'd also like to modify it to be a better drive.
what mods what you recommend should be carried out first?
i'd expect brakes and suspension should be priorities? or should engine cooling come first? is a roll cage required?
how much is this sort of thing likely to cost? I'm looking to pay about 2500 for the car and spend about 1000 on basics.

any advice appreciated!
thanks!
Old 15 Feb 2004, 13:47 (Ref:874814)   #2
Hobson
Veteran

England
Notts, UK
Hobson should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridHobson should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Welcome to the forum!

One thing to remember is the less you spend on buying the car, the more you have to spend on the car.