Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 14 Feb 2006, 01:28 (Ref:1522245)   #1
rabieng
Rookie

rabieng should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Adjustable "Blade Type" Anti-Roll Bars Design Questions

Hello everyone. Just wondering if anyone could help me out here. I am an automotive engineering degree student and as part of a design project I would like to model an adjustable twin blade sway arms in conjunction with an interchangable hollow, heat treated, high carbon steel sway bar (the standard gauge types used in US stock car racing) for a touring car, front suspension application. This may sound far-fetched to some but it was given to us as a "real design problem" for us to work on and have sleepless nights over ¦o) hehe

The pictures in the links below should give you an idea of what I am talking about showing an actual application of this design.
http://www.jaytorborg.com/anti-roll_bars.htm
http://www.hrpworld.com/index.cfm?f...&action=product

I have searched the forum but haven't as yet found the answers to my questions, specifically about this type of design. Now I have a few questions as I am not from the motorsport "scene". I understand how the design works, horizontal blade = "soft", on edge blade = "hard", the purpose of the ARB etc. I am however more interested in making calculations and a spreadseet for such a setup.

1. Does anyone know where I can find or do you have stiffness formulas relating to blade type ARBs? Any formulas for that matter which have direct application to blade type ARBs please?

2. Software, spreadsheets, books, photocopies, scans, websites, manufatcurers related to blade type ARB's... any recommendations or help here?