Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14 Dec 2005, 17:44 (Ref:1484068)   #1
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
ECU's

I am building a Van Diemen for Formula 4 for next season. I have bought a Zetec as the base of the conversion to F4.

The race zetec comes with a Pectel T2 ECU. In the Formula 4 regs the ECU is free.

Can you re programme a Pectel ECU?

Does anyone have any recommendations?

I am looking at buying a MBE ECU - does anyone have any experience of these?

Regards

RR77
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 14 Dec 2005, 22:19 (Ref:1484277)   #2
MIdsm
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
United States
U.S.
Posts: 19
MIdsm should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Pectel T2 is programmable.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=pectel+t2
MIdsm is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 10:31 (Ref:1484609)   #3
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Or here:

http://www.pectel.co.uk/sub_page.cfm...ucts/editID/12
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 10:37 (Ref:1484615)   #4
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redracer77
I am building a Van Diemen for Formula 4 for next season. I have bought a Zetec as the base of the conversion to F4.

The race zetec comes with a Pectel T2 ECU. In the Formula 4 regs the ECU is free.

Can you re programme a Pectel ECU?

Does anyone have any recommendations?

I am looking at buying a MBE ECU - does anyone have any experience of these?

Regards

RR77
If sticking with the Pectel, speak to Steve Phillips at Pectel Control Systems - he will point you in the direction of a good mapping company. If using MBE then SBD have experience with the Duratec engine, I believe, but maybe not the Zetec. Try MBE themselves for their suggestions:

http://www.mbesystems.com/contactdetails.html

Mountune certainly know a lot about the Zetec too
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 11:13 (Ref:1484640)   #5
Richy_Rich
Racer
 
Richy_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
France
France
Posts: 470
Richy_Rich should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Or you can make your own... seriously

http://www.bgsoflex.com/megasquirt.html
Richy_Rich is offline  
__________________
The wonderful dexterity of Hannu Mikkola, makes me want to shake hands with the whole of Finland.
(Architecture And Morality, Ted And Alice - Half Man Half Biscuit)
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 11:32 (Ref:1484650)   #6
retro_msport
Racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
England
Harlow
Posts: 417
retro_msport should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Personally i havnt seen a car run on the Mega systems.. heard lots of people building them and fitting them, but not many are running.

MBE or DTA ring Steve Greenald 07774773824 best mapper I know
retro_msport is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 13:33 (Ref:1484724)   #7
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro_msport
Personally i havnt seen a car run on the Mega systems.. heard lots of people building them and fitting them, but not many are running.

MBE or DTA ring Steve Greenald 07774773824 best mapper I know
Steve is also learning Pectel DESCPro - on our T6! He has contacts at Mountune who are guiding him as they have considerable Pectel experience through their Ford work
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 13:34 (Ref:1484725)   #8
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
can you get the same amount of power out of any ECU. For example if I can find someone to re map the Pectel would that be the best bet or could you get better results out of say an MBE
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 13:35 (Ref:1484727)   #9
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Does Pectel work well with Carbs?
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 13:41 (Ref:1484732)   #10
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redracer77
can you get the same amount of power out of any ECU. For example if I can find someone to re map the Pectel would that be the best bet or could you get better results out of say an MBE
Any (decent) ECU should be able to get the fuelling and the timing right.

The difference between ECUs is generally in different features and functions available. The Pectel can be tweaked to kingdom come with adjustment maps/correction factors for just about anything you can measure. It can also give traction control, torque limiting for start line and pit lane etc. it can handle fan control, fuel pump pressure, boost control, anti lag, water injection, intercooler water spray (it was designed from scratch as a turbo engine management system), dual maps, data logging - and loads more - the list of features is HUGE

I don't know so much about the MBE system, but I know people who have used MOTEC very successfully.
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 13:45 (Ref:1484739)   #11
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redracer77
Does Pectel work well with Carbs?
I'd say that using a Pectel without using the injection management would make it an expensive choice - but it will handle everything else of course.
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 14:01 (Ref:1484754)   #12
graham bahr
Veteran
 
graham bahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
England
cambs
Posts: 2,071
graham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridgraham bahr should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
powerwise it doesn't matter who's ecu you use its all in the mapping
graham bahr is offline  
__________________
AKA Guru

its not speed thats dangerous, just the sudden lack of it!
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 15:17 (Ref:1484799)   #13
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix
I'd say that using a Pectel without using the injection management would make it an expensive choice - but it will handle everything else of course.
I already have Pectel on the car so I just need to re map?
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 15 Dec 2005, 15:31 (Ref:1484806)   #14
phoenix
Veteran
 
phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
European Union
Posts: 1,981
phoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridphoenix should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redracer77
I already have Pectel on the car so I just need to re map?
Yep
phoenix is offline  
Quote
Old 17 Dec 2005, 16:59 (Ref:1485815)   #15
capri-rs
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
capri-rs should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
is the pectel a T2 from a formula ford??
capri-rs is offline  
Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 03:38 (Ref:1485939)   #16
C10CoryM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Canada
Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 3
C10CoryM should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Just want to note that a logging program is a must to get the most out of your car. Either that or oodles of dynotime. If you cant record whats happening, you are still just guessing and that costs power, time and money.
I have dealt with the FAST bank to bank ecu a fair bit http://www.fuelairspark.com/
Tune on the fly which is REALLY nice for getting throttle response and driveability perfect (street toy). For the WOT stuff though you can set a trigger, then just floor it, then pull over, look at your log, adjust a few cells and then try again. Makes it a one man job. A really fun job too in a 700rwhp car
Only complaint is that it doesnt use a generic O2 sensor. The ECU is calibrated for the O2 and it costs $500 to get a new O2. The initial buying price is a bit high too. It was $1800 for the ECU/pigtail but I know its cheaper now. I dont think you need all its options for a race only car though.

For the megasquirt check out some of the fsae sites. I know several of them use it.
Cheers.
C10CoryM is offline  
__________________
Our watchword evermore shall be,
The Maple Leaf forever!
Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 06:33 (Ref:1485957)   #17
1200Datto27
Veteran
 
1200Datto27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Australia
Croydon
Posts: 1,534
1200Datto27 has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham bahr
powerwise it doesn't matter who's ecu you use its all in the mapping
Powerwise mostly true, as you are only tuning at WOT and usually max load, so the ECU doesn't have to do as much to work out the correct fuel/spark requirements. It's the driveability that makes the big difference between ECU's, one that has a higher resolution of map points will allow for a finer map to be created and the ECU will not have to do as much interpolation between the map points on transient rpm's/loads.
1200Datto27 is offline  
__________________
Mos Eisley spaceport, A more wretched hive of scum and villiany you will not find anywhere in the galaxy, we must be careful.
Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 06:54 (Ref:1485961)   #18
Chucky
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Australia
Port Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,767
Chucky should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham bahr
powerwise it doesn't matter who's ecu you use its all in the mapping
Chucky is offline  
__________________
"...full of sound and fury, yet signifying nothing...."
Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 11:37 (Ref:1486047)   #19
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by capri-rs
is the pectel a T2 from a formula ford??
Yes,

It needs to be unlocked first as they are locked to formula ford regs. Just waiting for Pectel to call me back
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 18 Dec 2005, 22:18 (Ref:1486265)   #20
capri-rs
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
capri-rs should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redracer77
Yes,

It needs to be unlocked first as they are locked to formula ford regs. Just waiting for Pectel to call me back
The Unit will need to be changed to the Pectel External developer, because it is Ford developer at the moment, and the software for this is not available. You will also need the software package of the mapping software, the data offload software and the data analysis software. The hardware is similar to the unit as sold by us now, new the T2 is £650 and includes the software above.
The Developer change is £250 and the software suite is £315, we can also supply a serial lead with the standard Pectel jack plug termination.

this was the answer i got from pectel !!

have an pectel T2 that i was going to use on a cossie YB engine but i think i will go T6 instead

cheers
capri-rs is offline  
Quote
Old 19 Dec 2005, 21:36 (Ref:1486970)   #21
Tim Wilkinson
Veteran
 
Tim Wilkinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
England
Essex
Posts: 782
Tim Wilkinson should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Quote:
Originally Posted by retro_msport
Personally i havnt seen a car run on the Mega systems.. heard lots of people building them and fitting them, but not many are running.

MBE or DTA ring Steve Greenald 07774773824 best mapper I know
Can Steve do the old MBEs, like the 906 'vvv'? The engine's nowhere near ready, and I have other management options, so don't want to waste his time, but am just curious whether anyone has knowledge of anything this old.
Tim Wilkinson is offline  
__________________
If you want to get a hat, get a head.
Quote
Old 20 Dec 2005, 18:00 (Ref:1487499)   #22
TEAM78
Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
United Kingdom
Posts: 234
TEAM78 has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
if you go MOTEC or MBE then GWR motorsport in Swindon is the only people you should speak to, they will demo the stuff so you can learn about the stuff before buying it. very professional and is specialises in only auto electronics inlcuding dash boards. they have helped me no end
TEAM78 is offline  
__________________
If you want to make a million pounds in motorsport start with ten million pounds
Quote
Old 20 Dec 2005, 18:04 (Ref:1487502)   #23
TEAM78
Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
United Kingdom
Posts: 234
TEAM78 has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
for engine mapping I use Interpro, ive found them to be the best, especially on turbo stuff
TEAM78 is offline  
__________________
If you want to make a million pounds in motorsport start with ten million pounds
Quote
Old 20 Dec 2005, 18:08 (Ref:1487504)   #24
Redracer77
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location:
Didsbury/Chorley
Posts: 3,446
Redracer77 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Pectel have said they will charge to unlock the P2 - £250 and then charge £350 for the software all plus vat!!!! (£705) so I am going to go for a MBE one.
Redracer77 is offline  
Quote
Old 20 Dec 2005, 18:15 (Ref:1487508)   #25
TEAM78
Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
United Kingdom
Posts: 234
TEAM78 has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
You best be speaking to GWR motorsport then on 01793 527373
ringing wont hurt
TEAM78 is offline  
__________________
If you want to make a million pounds in motorsport start with ten million pounds
Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standard ECU's,for or against? Marbot Formula One 63 21 Apr 2006 01:37
ECU's up for tender Marbot Formula One 25 24 Feb 2006 00:53
How to ban TC but not effect ECU's...? RWC Formula One 46 20 Jan 2003 10:55


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Original Website Copyright © 1998-2003 Craig Antil. All Rights Reserved.
Ten-Tenths Motorsport Forums Copyright © 2004-2021 Royalridge Computing. All Rights Reserved.
Ten-Tenths Motorsport Forums Copyright © 2021-2022 Grant MacDonald. All Rights Reserved.