Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Road Car Forums > Track Day Forum

Old 5 Feb 2004, 16:02 (Ref:864182)   #1
Paulw
Rookie

Paulw should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Advise for a young (21) persons track day car.

Hello all, I found this forum today looking round for info on track days as my interest has grown for track days.

Ok I have very little experience I have been only on the track once this is at Silverstone full GP circuit in my little 1.4 saxo and had an amazing time and really enjoyed myself since then I've wanted to get a faster car and get on the track again.

Ok my main problems are... Money! I'm only 21 working full time but still paying off loan for the saxo. I want a track day car but just not sure if I can afford to have two cars as I have no way of towing a trailer it would have to be road legal so would have to be insured and taxed and MOT'd my other option is to sell the saxo and buy something older and faster and cheaper so could pay off the loan and afford the insurance with the money left over from buying a cheaper car. what car should I get I have fallen in love with the Mk2 MR2 2.0 Turbo now I have no idea on insurance but is this a good track car or is it just too powerful for an inexperienced 21 year old? I thought if I was going to get a second car maybe a 205 and strip it out as hatchbacks are more forgiving on the handling side of things.

Sorry for the essay length post!

please give me some opinions and help!!
Old 5 Feb 2004, 17:34 (Ref:864283)   #2
Hobson
Veteran

England
Notts, UK
Hobson should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridHobson should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Hi Paul and welcome to the forum.

You get a Saxo VTR or VTS, or as you say, something older like a 205 GTi or Nova GSi.